Investment Strategies

SILVERTON Investmentmanagement

Custom Investment Strategy

Custom Investment Strategies

We offer investors access to a variety of investment opportunities such as real estate and credit situations. Our in-depth expertise in both these markets gives our investors access to opportunities off the beaten track, such as the purchase of distressed real estate. In this context, we are one of the few asset managers in Germany to hold a BaFin license to provide payment services.

Our activities revolve around following clearly defined strategies, a systematic and transparent representation to investors, and a returns-oriented approach. With our know-how, we consider ourselves a risk manager and trustworthy and professional partner to our clients.

Active Value Creation

Real estate investment returns are made up of three potential components: positive market development that brings higher prices (passive value appreciation), a regular flow of returns through rental income, and active measures aimed specifically at increasing the property’s value. Our investment platform offers a range of investment opportunities in a variety of risk classes, from traditional ‘core plus’ strategies, which focus on stable, yield-oriented investments, to ‘opportunistic’ approaches.

Co-Investment and Entrepreneurial Commitment

We are open to assuming a portion of the real estate investment as a co-investor, thus aligning our interests with those of the main investor.

 Investment_2.svg
CORE PLUS STRATEGIES

A ‘core plus’ strategy includes investments in all types of commercial real estate in good to medium locations. It typically involves a buy-and-hold strategy with a holding period of more than ten years to enable continuous distributions to investors. Value growth is achieved by optimizing lease terms and investing in the building itself.
MANAGE TO CORE & VALUE ADD STRATEGIES

By definition, ‘value add’ commercial real estate investments have the potential to increase in value. They typically have cash flow from rental income, which is significantly optimized on both the revenue and cost side during the management phase. Value is created through intensive hands-on asset management. Such measures typically include stabilizing the rental situation, upgrading the property through structural changes, and developing and implementing reuse and repositioning concepts. To optimally monetize the value appreciation, we aim to return the properties to the market once they are stabilized.
OPPORTUNISTIC STRATEGIES

Opportunistic properties are those with high potential for value appreciation. They are mostly found in peripheral B or even C locations where market cycles can reach a low point; thus they are highly speculative. The buildings usually require extensive renovation. Rental conditions are substantially below market level. Such properties are often characterized by significant vacancies, relatively low credit ratings of existing tenants, and an unfavorable tenant mix. Economic urgency and market inefficiencies are among the situations when such real estate can be acquired for an especially low price. In summary, opportunistic properties are undervalued and in need of renovation in very difficult markets. These properties carry the greatest risk, but also the highest potential for appreciation.

These investments are geared towards high upside potential that can be achieved through building upgrades and higher occupancy rates over a generally short holding period of 1 to 4 years. With a debt ratio of more than 75%, investments in opportunistic properties should achieve a superior return greater than 10% because of the comparatively high risk for investors. The primary goal of an opportunistic strategy is to generate profit on the property’s resale. In order to achieve these profits, however, extensive renovation work is required before the property can be repositioned on the market.
DISTRESSED DEBT & NON PERFORMING LOAN STRATEGIES

A non-performing Loan (NPL) strategy involves investments in non-performing loan commitments, in our case largely in real estate or ship financing.

Banks offer non-performing loans on the capital market in order to reduce their credit risks, relieve balance sheets, and generate additional liquidity.

Investor strategies range from short-term solutions, such as partial repayment of the loan (discounted pay-off), refinancing, or private sale of the loan collateral, to medium-term solutions such as maintaining control over the loan collateral through power of attorney and settlement of the remaining debt, management of the insolvency process, foreclosure or resolution of tax, financing or legal problems, or to long-term solutions such as restructuring the loan and holding it to maturity (hold-to-maturity).
MANAGING SEPARATE ACCOUNTS & TRANSFERRED ASSETS

Individual mandates typically begin with a new capital allocation or transfer of an existing real estate portfolio in conjunction with the release of a new investment budget. Our services include asset transfers, asset management, and individual client solutions from ‘core’ to ‘value add’ strategies.

Investment Strategies

SILVERTON Investmentmanagement

Maßgeschneiderte Anlagestrategien

Custom Investment Strategies

Silverton bietet Investoren Zugang zu verschiedenen Investmentmöglichkeiten wie Immobilienopportunitäten und Kreditsituationen. Unsere tiefgreifende Expertise in beiden Marktbereichen eröffnet unseren Investoren und Anlegern den Zugang zu Investmentopportunitäten abseits der üblichen Pfade, wie z.B. den Ankauf von Immobilien aus notleidenden Kreditsituationen. In diesem Zusammenhang verfügt Silverton als einer von wenigen Asset Managern in Deutschland über eine von der BaFin erteilte Erlaubnis zur Erbringung von Zahlungsdiensten.

Die Verfolgung von klar definierten Strategien, der systematisierten und transparenten Darstellung für den Investor sowie unsere renditeorientierte Herangehensweise liegt im Zentrum unseres Handelns. Wir verstehen uns mit unserem Know How in Sachen Immobilien- und Fremdfinanzierungs-Investments als erster Risikomanager und Ihr vertrauenswürdiger sowie professioneller Ansprechpartner.

Active value creation

Die Rendite von Immobilieninvestments setzt sich aus drei potenziellen Ertragskomponenten zusammen: Einer positiven Marktentwicklung, die steigende Preise mit sich bringt (passive Wertentwicklung), einem regelmäßigen Rückfluss durch Mieteinkünfte sowie aktiven Maßnahmen mit dem Ziel einer bewusst eingeleiteten, aktiven Wertsteigerung des Objekts. Unsere Investment-Plattform bietet eine Bandbreite an Investmentmöglichkeiten. Je nach Risikoklasse von traditionellen Core Plus Strategien, die den Fokus auf stabilisierte, ertragsorientierte Investments legen – bis hin zu opportunistischen Ansätzen.

Co-Investment und unternehmerisches Commitment

Silverton ist interessiert einen Anteil des Immobilieninvestments als Co-Investor zu übernehmen und zeigt somit Interessenkongruenz mit dem Hauptinvestor.

 Investment_2.svg
CORE PLUS STRATEGIES

Silverton Core Plus Strategie beinhaltet Immobilien Investments in alle gewerblichen Nutzungsarten in guten bis mittleren Lagen.

In der Regel liegt eine Buy-and-Hold Strategie mit einer Haltedauer von über zehn Jahren zugrunde mit dem Ziel eine laufende Ausschüttung auf Investorenebene zu ermöglichen. Wertsteigerungen werden durch eine Optimierung der Vermietungssituation sowie Investitionen in die Gebäudesubstanz erreicht.
MANAGE TO CORE & VALUE ADD STRATEGIES

Value Add Commercial Real Estate Investments weisen per Definition Wertsteigerungspotential auf. Sie verfügen typischer Weise über einen vorhandenen Cash Flow aus Mieteinnahmen, der jedoch während der Management Phase sowohl auf der Umsatz- als auf der Kostenseite deutlich optimiert wird. Wertpotentiale werden durch intensives Hands-On Asset Management realisiert. Hierzu gehören typischerweise die Stabilisierung der Mietsituation, Aufwerten des Objekts durch bauliche Veränderungen sowie die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Umnutzungs- und Neupositionierungskonzepten. Um die Wertsteigerung optimal zu monetarisieren, verfolgen wir das Ziel, nach erfolgter Stabilisierung die Objekte wieder an den Markt zu bringen.
OPPORTUNISTIC STRATEGIES

Opportunistic-Immobilien sind Objekte, die ein hohes Wertsteigerungspotential aufweisen. Sie sind meist in peripheren B- oder gar C-Lagen zu finden, deren Marktzyklen sich auf dem Tiefpunkt bewegen können, und daher von stark spekulativen Zügen geprägt. Der Zustand der Gebäude erfordert meist weitreichende Sanierungsmaßnahmen. Die Vermietungslage einer solchen Immobilie befindet sich substanziell unterhalb des Marktniveaus. Die Objekte sind oft durch signifikante Leerstände gekennzeichnet, Bestandsmieter weisen eine vergleichsweise geringe Bonität auf oder der Mietermix ist nicht sehr attraktiv. Es werden unter anderem wirtschaftliche Notlagen oder Marktineffizienzen genutzt, um Immobilien besonders günstig zu erwerben. Zusammengefasst sind Opportunistic-Immobilien also unterbewertete, renovierungsbedürftige Immobilien in sehr schwierigen Märkten. Diese Immobilien sind die riskantesten Objekte, allerdings mit dem höchsten Potential an Wertzuwachs.

Mit einer in der Regel sehr kurzen, strategischen Haltedauer von 1-4 Jahren ist das Investment auf die hohen Wertsteigerungspotenziale ausgerichtet, die durch Aufwertung und Steigerung des Vermietungsstandes erreicht werden. Mit einer Fremdkapitalquote von über 75% sollten Investments in Opportunistic-Objekte eine mit über 10 % sehr hohe Rendite erzielen – gerade, weil das Risiko für den Anleger im Vergleich auf hohem Niveau liegt. Das primäre Ziel der Opportunistic-Strategie ist die Erwirtschaftung von Gewinn aus dem Wiederverkauf der Immobilien. Um diese Gewinne jedoch erzielen zu können, bedarf es aufwändiger Sanierungsarbeiten, bevor die Immobilie neu am Markt positioniert werden kann.
DISTRESSED DEBT & NON PERFORMING LOAN STRATEGIES

Bei einer „Non Performing Loan (NPL) Strategie handelt es sich um Investitionen in leistungsgestörte Kreditengagements, in unserem Fall weitestgehend aus Immobilien- oder Schiffsfinanzierungen.

Um Kreditrisiken abzubauen, Bilanzen zu entlasten und zusätzliche Liquidität zu erwirken, bieten Kreditinstitute leistungsgestörte Forderungen auf dem Kapitalmarkt an.

Die Investorenstrategien reichen von kurzfristige Lösungen wie anteilige Rückführung des Kredits (Discounted-Pay-Off), Refinanzierung oder freihändiger Verkauf der Kreditsicherheiten über mittelfristige Maßnahmen wie Erhalt der Kontrolle über die Kreditsicherheit mittels Vollmacht und Vergleich über die Restschuld, Management des Insolvenzprozesses, Zwangsversteigerung oder Lösung steuerlicher, Finanzierungs- oder rechtlicher Probleme bis hin langfristigen Lösungen wie Restrukturierungen des Kredits und Halten bis zur Fälligkeit (Hold-to-Maturity).
MANAGING SEPARATE ACCOUNTS & TRANSFERRED ASSETS

Individualmandate beginnen typischerweise mit einer neuen Kapitalallokation oder Übertrag eines bestehenden Immobilienportfolios in Verbindung mit der Freigabe eines neuen Investitionsbudgets. Unsere Dienstleistung beinhaltet die Übertragung und Ausführung des Asset Managements und Bereitstellung individueller Kundenlösungen für Core bis Value-Add Strategien.